Home » News »

ENHANCE Alliance welcomes three new member universities

Photo of the high-ranked representatives of all ten member universities of ENHANCE Alliance

Representatives of all ten member universities of ENHANCE Alliance, first from the right in the top row is our Vice-Rector for Research prof. Mariusz Malinowski

TU Delft University of Technology (Netherlands), Gdańsk University of Technology (Poland) and ETH Zurich (Switzerland) join the ENHANCE Alliance on its journey towards a European University. The ENHANCE Alliance includes the Warsaw University of Technology.

High-ranked representatives of all three institutions have joined the ENHANCE Leadership Meeting, held on 25 November 2022 at RWTH Aachen University. The ten member universities were handed their signed Memorandums of Understanding, which are the basis for their cooperation. The Warsaw University of Technology was represented by the Vice-Rector for Research prof. Mariusz Malinowski, Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs prof. Jan Słyk and the Director of the Centre for International Cooperation Grzegorz Robak.

By expanding its network, ENHANCE will benefit from long lasting institutional relationships between the seven founding universities and the three new members. The excellence in teaching and research of TU Delft, Gdańsk Tech and ETH Zurich are highly welcomed in the Alliance. Together, all ten universities will be beneficiaries from their joined expertise and knowledge.

The ENHANCE Leadership Meeting has set the stage to finalise the overall strategic direction, ENHANCE wishes to take for the years to come.

TU Delft is the oldest and largest University of Technology in the Netherlands. It was founded in 1842 and will bring more than 27.000 students and more than 6.000 members of staff to the ENHANCE Alliance. Science, engineering and design are the cornerstones of the university’s research strategy. Gdańsk University of Technology is ENHANCE’s second member institution joining from Eastern Europe (the first one is Warsaw University of Technology), it was founded in 1904. It brings together over 15.000 students and around 2.800 staff. ETH Zurich was founded in 1855 and will add nearly 25.000 students and nearly 10.000 staff to the ENHANCE community.

Within and beyond the scope of the Alliance’s application for the new Erasmus+ Call for the European Universities Initiative, the ten universities will work towards a smooth and deepened integration of all with a clear mission forward that will carry ENHANCE beyond current funding frameworks.

The ENHANCE Alliance was founded in 2019, with the aim to develop one joint European campus, free of physical, administrative, or educational barriers, where students, faculty and staff can move freely to experience the European Education Area. The mission of ENHANCE is to drive responsible societal transformation and to promote the development and utilisation of science and technology – for the benefit of society. ENHANCE is participating in the ERASMUS+ programme European Universities Initiative and in the Horizon 2020 programme Science with and for Society (SwafS). The Alliance brings together ten member universities: Technische Universität Berlin (Germany), as the Coordinator, Warsaw University of Technology (Poland). Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden), TU Delft University of Technology (The Netherlands), ETH Zurich (Switzerland), Gdańsk University of Technology (Poland), Norwegian University of Science and Technology (Norway), Politecnico di Milano (Italy), RWTH Aachen University (Germany) and Universitat Politècnica de València (Spain).

More information: www.enhanceuniversity.eu.